organifi Red juice review

Organifi Red Juice is one of dozens if not hundreds of red/superfood supplements on the market. It contains eleven superfood ingredients, and It's made by Organifi, a health food company based out of San Diego, CA. Organifi’s Red Juice is their second follow-up to their wildly successful Green Juice, read our full comprehensive Green Juice review!

I've tried quite a few red superfood powders over the years, but I never stuck with them because they usually taste bland (if not downright awful), contain 50+ questionable "natural" ingredients, and are extremely pricey. After already having tried the Organifi Green Juice, and given the strong user testimonials for the Red Juice, plus some research into the main ingredients, I decided to give the product a try. With a 60-day money back guarantee on all their products I had nothing to lose!

Well I never returned the bottle! In fact I’ve been using the Organifi Red Juice nearly daily for the past year to boost my energy before workouts, to add to fruit smoothies, and as an alternative to the Green Juice. Having tried other red juice products on the market, I can confidently say Organifi hit another home run with the Red Juice, and I strongly believe the Organifi Red Juice is the best red juice powder currently on the market *applause*.

This review is going to show you why I believe all that to be true, and it will hopefully save you a lot of time researching to find the best red juice supplement, so you don't have to repeat what I've already done!

This in-depth review is split into the following sections: Taste | Texture | Ingredients | Nutrition | Price | Uses | Summary | Final Score

Each of the above attributes is very important in determining if you'll like and use a supplement product. I've given each category a score, and the total at the end of the review is the average of those scores. I believe though that what Organifi developed with the Red Juice is a superfood supplement which is overall greater than the sum of its parts, and for simplicity the final review score does not take that into account. Additionally, many of the scores out of 10 are in relation to other similar supplement categories such as protein powders, not just superfood supplements. The greens/superfoods supplements category is still in it's infancy, and as a result the quality of many of those products is fairly low. I hold all the supplements I use to the same high quality standard, and Organifi’s Red Juice passes with flying colors. This review will be updated pending any changes to any of the above categories. Let's dive in, and start with one of the most important factors. How does it taste!


taste


Organifi’s Red Juice tastes like a berry rich fruit smoothie or tropical fruit punch, and it’s delicious! Like with the Green Juice, Organifi did an amazing job making the Red Juice taste fantastic. The flavor can be attributed to their proprietary antioxidant berry blend, which consists of pomegranate, cranberry, blueberry, raspberry, and strawberry fruit powders as well as the addition of Acai berry powder from their metabolic boosting blend. While the fruit powders likely provide a nice amount of sweetness by themselves, the addition of acai berry flavor and monk fruit extract (a natural zero calorie sweetener) really help the Red Juice to taste refreshing without being overbearinly sweet. Even with the addition to powerful mushroom superfoods Cordyceps and Reishi (which are notoriously bitter taken by themselves), the Red Juice tastes amazing and no off flavors or bitterness can be detected. I even have a supertaster friend who drinks Red Juice regularly (and loves it), and she doesn't notice any bitter or unusual flavors.

The taste can be described as berry first, sweet, and vibrant. Basically it's like drinking a healthy fruit punch. The fruit punch flavor makes it a great compliment to smoothies, and by itself mixed in water with a couple ice cubes I consider it a treat in and of itself. I use the Red Juice primarily before my workouts mixed with other supplements like Creatine and Citrulline Malate, and it dramacticaly improves the taste of my preworkout, masking the flavors of the other supplements.become a looked forward to part of my morning routine. By itself or mixed with something else the Red Juice tastes wonderful.

Green Juice Drink With Lemon

Most red juice supplements inherently taste better than green supplements, due to the ample use of fruit powders, but in general I’ve found those fruity flavors to taste bland and oxidized. With Organifi’s Red Juice, you can tell they have done their due diligence sourcing the best ingredients and processing them minimally to keep the flavors surprisingly vibrant. It's seriously so good!

Compared to most health and fitness supplements currently on the market such as protein powders, pre-workouts, or BCAA’s, Organifi Red Juice is not sweetened with artificial sugars such as sucralose, acesulfame K, and aspartame. I find the flavor of artificially sweetened supplements to be sickeningly sweet in a nauseous way. Instead Red Juice is sweetened with natural acai berry flavor and luo han gua (monk fruit) extract. You'll find that these ingredients are safe and packed with micronutrients.

Score: 10/10


texture


Not as important of a characteristic as taste in my opinion, I still think the texture, graininess, and mixability of a supplement powder is an important consideration to take into account. Like the Green Juice, this is a category the Red Juice struggles in (if compared to modern protein powders, which mix ultra smooth and creamy), but compared to other superfood powders the Red Juice is ahead of the pack.

If you mix the Red Juice in a thin liquid like water, after a few shakes everything is pretty much dissolved and/or distributed evenly. The one ingredient that will partially settle out after a minute or two is the reishi mushroom. I’ve used reishi mushroom only powders before, and this is a common occurrence. Something about the physical structure of a mushroom makes it difficult to pulverize and spray dry into an ultra fine powder. If you mix the Red Juice in a thick drink like a smoothie then any texture, graininess, and/or mixability concerns are a non issue. I've found that other superfood powders on the market can be very difficult to mix in water, and either completely settle out to the bottom or are extremely frothy, creating a weird foam. This is not an issue you’ll encounter with Organifi’s Red Juice.

As you can tell in the below GIF, the viscosity of Red Juice mixed in water is the same as water by itself. No thickening agents such as guar gum or xanthan gum adding filler to this powder!

Shaking up a Bottle of Red Juice
Pouring Red Juice Through a Strainer

Normally I mix one scoop of Red Juice in about 8-12 oz of water, and the drink is smooth. The Red Juice is not as smooth as tea, where there is no powder (just steeping) involved, but pretty close to be honest! It's just the slightest amount of graininess, and such a low amount it's a non-issue. Pouring through a fine mesh strainer found just 1-2 small clumps of the reishi mushroom. Pouring through a coffee filter (a very optimistic endeavor) was overall a no go. Red Juice still slowly dripped through though!

Like with the Green Juice, if you mix the Red Juice with another powder in water I find the texture is improved slightly. I usually mix my daily scoop of Red Juice with other workout supplements like previously mentioned, and I find the consistency of the drink is slightly improved when everything is mixed together. Compared to top of the line protein powders the Red Juice doesn’t mix/dissolve as well as hoped, but compared to the superfood supplement category it’s hard to beat. If you have already tried the Green Juice, the easiest way to describe the texture is imagine drinking the Green Juice except it’s nearly imperceptibly grainier.

SCORE: 8.0/10


ingredients


Scoop of Red Juice

Organifi Red Juice contains 11 main superfood ingredients, and four additional ingredients. But before we discuss the ingredients, let's first get the easy stuff out of the way.

A single tub of Organifi Red Juice is sold containing 270 grams of product, and each serving according to their nutrition label is 9 grams. Are those numbers accurate, or is Organifi scamming everyone?! Well I confirmed both of those numbers to be true! I weighed four different new tubs, subtracted the weight of the empty tub, and got weights of 271, 268, 272, and 270 grams, which averages to 270.5 grams per tub. I also weighted the product from their leveled off scoop a few times and it came in between 9-10 grams consistently. Due to the Red Juice not being as dense as the Green Juice, the scoop for the Red Juice is bigger, so keep in mind that the scoops are not interchangeable!

A Scoop of Red Juice Weighs Ten Grams

The main super food ingredients are Organic Pomegranate Juice Powder, Organic Cranberry, Organic Blueberry Juice Powder, Organic Raspberry, Organic Strawberry, Organic Beet Root Powder, Organic Crodyceps, Organic Reishi Mushroom Extract, Organic Acai Juice Powder, Organic Rhodiola, and Organic Siberian Ginseng.

The four additional ingredients are Organic Artichoke Inulin, Natural Berry Acai Flavor, Malic Acid, and Monk Fruit Extract Flavor. Inulin is a natural pre-biotic dietary fiber derived from the Jerusalem Artichoke root, about 1/10th as sweet as table sugar, though it’s really only used to stabilize and add fiber to food. The Natural Berry Acai Flavor help give the Red Juice it's vibrant fruity flavor. Malic acid is a naturally occurring substance responsible for giving fruits and vegetables a sour or tart taste and is also used as a flavor enhancer in the Red Juice blend. Lastly the Monk Fruit Extract Flavor is a natural sweetener 300x sweeter than sugar, so only a very small amount is used. Monk Fruit Extract also has no bitter off flavors like Stevia, but it’s just now hitting the market, and in my opinion the use of Monk Fruit Extract over Stevia goes to show the thought Organifi puts into each of their products.

One of the major positives with the Red Juice is that it focuses on quality over quantity. As touched on later in the review, more does not mean better when it comes to superfood supplements. The quality control and testing procedures needed for 10-15 ingredients are manageable. The quality control and testing procedures needed for 50+ ingredients is a nightmare, especially for a smaller supplement company. As consumer watchdog groups have shown time and time again, integrity is hard to find in the supplement industry

One of the main gripes I have with Organifi in regards to their products is the lack of transparency. They list all their ingredients, as is the law, but the specific amounts of each ingredient for the Red Juice are hidden behind their Antioxidant Berry, Endurance, and Metabolic Boosting proprietary blends. Now, to be fair, nearly every supplement manufacturer does this, especially for superfood supplements. So as much as I would wish to see that change, it's unlikely to in the future. One positive Organifi has in that regard though compared to their competitors is they are very selective with the amount of ingredients they use. All the ingredients they use are certified organic (I mean it’s in their name), and the Organifi Red Juice has anywhere from 1/2 to 1/5 of the ingredients of their competitors same sized scoop. I'm much more confident in the Red Juice’s ingredients such as the cordyceps or siberian ginseng being properly dosed compared to their competitors.

And as touched upon in the taste section of this review, the fact that the Red Juice doesn't use artificial sweeteners is a huge plus in my opinion. Artificial sweeteners have been shown to have major negative effects on gut health, so how someone can market their supplement as being healthy when it interacts negatively with one of the most important bodily systems is beyond me. Most superfood supplements also avoid artificial sweeteners which is good, but the tradeoff they make is they use nutritionally subpar ingredients such as carrot, apple, celery, and rose hips powders found in their proprietary blends to poorly flavor their product instead. This allows most companies to manufacture a cheaper product while still price gouging their customers without having to source relatively expensive natural sweeteners like monk fruit extract.

SCORE: 9.5/10 - 1 (proprietary blend) = 8.5/10


nutrition


Nutritionally, there are three main things I consider with superfood supplements. Most important are phytonutrients / zoonutrients / myconutrients, then micronutrients, and lastly macronutrients. Phytonutrients are unique chemicals produced by plants which can exert unique effects throughout the body, zoonutrients are unique chemicals produced by animals, and myconutrients are unique chemicals produced by fungi. Micronutrients are your vitamins and minerals. Macronutrients are your fats, carbohydrates, and protein. When a scoop of Red Juice is 9 grams the macronutrient ratio isn't nearly as important as it is for a large meal that is 500+ grams. In this nutrition section I'll examine each of those categories, in order of importance.

Phytonutrients/Myconutrients:

Considering Organifi Red Juice contains no animal products, there are no potential zoonutrients to examine in detail. That leaves us with just phytonutrients and myconutrients. There are two ways phytonutrients are viewed, as the whole plant material containing various phytonutrients or as isolated phytonutrients. It’s the same with myconutrients. Out of the eleven superfood ingredients that make up the Red Juice, they are all relatively well studied and all have notable positive effects. Instead of going in-depth for each ingredient, I'm going to keep it brief and concise, instead linking to Examine.com and other reputable webpages for more information. Examine is a fantastic independent website which contains exhaustive information and study summaries on almost all available supplemental ingredients, herbs, chemicals, and more. Let's get started with the four superfood ingredients which I believe to be the most potent, and then the rest!

The Top 4 Superfoods:

Reishi Mushroom Fruiting Body. Photo by Wendell Smith

Reishi Mushroom Fruiting Body. Photo by Wendell Smith

Reishi Mushroom is a type of fungus found worldwide in both tropical and temperate regions, and it is popular in ancient Chinese medicine. It’s only until recently that western medicine has started to study the reishi mushroom, and the list of positive attributes it has is staggering, and growing! Reishi has been shown to significantly improve your subjective sense of well being, reduce rates of depressions, reduce anxiety, decrease fatigue, and significantly boost your immune system (caution if you have an autoimmune disorder). Reishi mushroom is also being investigated for its anti-cancerous effects, and overall it’s just a powerhouse of a supplement. I drink a reishi based hot cacao from Four Sigmatic on nights after a long day, and I find it really helps to calm your mind while also simultaneously lifting that “weight on your shoulders” type of fatigue.

Cordyceps militaris. Artistry by Paul K.

Cordyceps militaris. Artistry by Paul K.

Codyceps Mushroom is a type of fungus with quite the gruesome life-cycle (I’ll let you research that yourself), and like the reishi mushroom it’s very popular in ancient Chinese medicine. Cordyceps has been recently gained popularity as an exercise performance enhancer. Cordyceps has been found to be able to improve your lactate threshold (think the burn), increase your VO2 max, and and cordyceps have been known to help provide even levels of energy, keeping lethargy at bay (I can vouch for that, aka take this). Other than exercise performance, cordyceps is a potent anti-oxidant, has studied anti-cancer and anti-tumor effects, and life extension effects (at least according to ancient Chinese medicine and these fruit flies). Lastly, cordyceps has been shown to stomp down on overactive levels of inflammation throughout the body. For an energy based superfood powder such as the Red Juice, the inclusion of cordyceps is a no brainer.

Siberian Gingseng Root. Photo by Forest Farming.

Siberian Gingseng Root. Photo by Forest Farming.

Siberian Gingseng Root is the root of a small woody shrub found throughout East Asia, China, Japan, and Russia. Siberian ginseng is best known as an adaptogen, allowing your body to adapt better to physical, environmental, and emotional stress. As a result of its adaptogenic properties, siberian ginseng is great at boosting immunity, provides anti-cancer effects, decreases DNA damage, and is often used to treat sleep insomnia. Siberian has also been taken by elite athletes for years due to its strong endurance and anti-fatigue effects. Increased levels of fat oxidation have also been noted with use of siberian ginseng, and that paired with its endurance and energy benefits classifies it as a well known metabolism booster. Boosting your metabolism is one of the best ways to feel better daily, have more flexibility calorically, and burn body fat (permanently).

Rhodiola root. Photo by unknown

Rhodiola root. Photo by unknown

Rhodiola Root is an adaptogenic herb which grows in wild arctic regions. Also popular in ancient Chinese medicine, rhodiola root has a long list of beneficial effects just now starting to be discovered and studied via western medicine. Rhodiola root has been shown to signifigantly reduce general sense of fatigue after consistent daily supplementation for 1-2 weeks. Acute larger doses of rhodiola will have a very quick fatigue reducing effects. Rhodiola is has also been shown to boost cognition, steady your emotions, and reduce stress. Preliminary evidence indicates that rhodiola might even be strongly neuroprotective against toxins and able to increase life-span by 20%! Taken by itself rhodiola root relieves feelings of fatigue more than it boosts energy, which is nice balance to provide to other compounds like cordyceps which will boost your energy but not not necessarily reduce fatigue.

The Other Superfoods:

Pomegranate seeds and whole fruit

Pomegranate seeds and whole fruit

Pomegranates are a fruit originally found from Iran to India, but was made famous by the ancient Greeks. On a calorie to calorie basis, pomegranates are much richer in micronutrients and phytochemicals than most other fruits. The two main phytochemicals responsibly for the health benefits of pomegranates are punicalagins and punicic acid. Punicalagins are very strong anti-oxidants, up to 3x stronger than the anti-oxidants in found in green tea and red wine. Punicalagins also boost nitric oxide production, improving your performance in the gym. Punicic acid has been shown to improve blood parameters by minorly increasing HDL cholesterol and reducing trigylcerides.

Beet root with foliage

Beet root with foliage

Beet Root powder is a more condensed version of beet root juice, and it has the same endurance increasing effects. The nitrates found in beet root are responsible for this, and they also are responsible for a host of other beneficial health effects. Nitrates have been shown to be a potent blood pressure reducing agent during periods of high blood pressure (like during exercise), and can also help lower blood pressures that are elevated to unhealthy levels in persons who have a chronic disease. Nearly anything blood related beet supplementation seems to improve upon in a healthy way. 

Whole blueberries

Whole blueberries

Blueberries are an amazing little berry. Besides being delicious, they have been shown consistently to be able to powerfully reduce DNA damage by as much as 20% quickly following ingestion. Blueberries are best known for their anti-oxidant effects, and an ample amount of studies prove that to be true. Blueberries contain a class of compounds called anthocyanins, such as cyanidin-3-glucoside, which beyond its anti-oxidant effects is garnering interest as for its ability to decrease blood glucose levels (a good thing) while not hindering muscle protein synthesis.

Acai Berries ready for harvest. Photo by Paulo Pedro P. R. Costa.

Acai Berries ready for harvest. Photo by Paulo Pedro P. R. Costa.

Acai Berries are a highly perishable berries found mostly in South Africa. When eaten fresh or preserved through either freezing or freeze drying and powdering, acai has been found to have an extremely high ORAC value, a well known measure of anti-oxidant potential. Additionally, anthocyanins are abundantly found in acai berries, providing beneficial blood glucose regulating effects. Acai berries have been shown to improve metabolic disorders across the board, from decreasing fasting glucose and insulin levels to reducing cholesterol levels via reductions in LDL cholesterol (which is typically elevated in the presence of chronic inflammation).

Whole and sliced strawberries

Whole and sliced strawberries

Strawberries is a bright red fruit cultivated worldwide more known for its delicious flavor than potent phytochemicals. Strawberries can pack quite the healthy punch though, with a high TAC score, a measure of anti-oxidant capabilities. Strawberries as a result have been shown to positively impact your cardiovascular health, lipid blood profile, exert anti-cancerous effects, and more. Pelargonidin, an anthocyanin most abundantly found in strawberries, like the other anthocyanins, is believed to offer positive health effects such as less chronic inflammation throughout the body. Systemic inflammation is an underlying issue for hundreds of diseases, and anthocyanins, especially different types used in conjunction can have a profound effect on key inflammation bio-markers.

Whole cranberries

Whole cranberries

Cranberries were originally found in acidic bogs but have since become cultivated on a larger scale. Cranberries are best known health wise for their ability to help naturally treat a urinary tract infection (UTI). Cranberries have also been demonstrated to lower levels of blood triglycerides, fasting blood sugar levels, and dramatically improve someones antioxidant capacity. In addition, cranberry intake increases the bodies levels of adiponectin, an important hormone associated associated with fat cells which can lower levels of blood sugar and blood triglycerides, decrease insulin secretion, decrease insulin resistance, and even decrease the accumulation of body fat. Oh and did I mention that cranberries also have very high levels of anthocyanins, that class of amazing berry compounds?

Whole raspberries

Whole raspberries

Raspberries are the fruit of an invasive shrub found throughout temperate areas of the world. Raspberries are rich in anti-oxidants and also anthocyanins. Raspberries recently became a popular health supplement through the use of raspberry ketones its supposed fat burning effect. While the claims are exaggerated by supplement companies, raspberry ketones do exert noticeable fat burning effects at high doses. Raspberry ketones were also shown to blunt the rate of fat accrual around the liver with an unhealthy obesity causing diet, with liver enzymes also beneficially influenced. Eating the raw cranberry fruit is unlikely to deliver raspberry ketones in doses high enough to exert a significant effect, but when concentrated into a powder like found in the Organifi Red Juice the possibility increased dramatically.

Micronutrients:

Without knowing the proper dosing of the ingredients used, it's impossible to determine the exact micronutrient breakdown for the Organifi Red Juice, but we can examine the various ingredients used and see what micronutrients each is high in, as well as which micronutrients are well represented across multiple ingredients. Together, this can help provide an overall idea of the micronutrient load that a scoop of Red Juice has. No comprehensive nutritional database currently exists, and many superfoods hailing from the eastern cultures of the world haven’t been studied rigorously scientifically, so these values were sourced from a variety of research papers, government databases, supplement company test records, and more. In some cases micronutrient data has not been completed for certain superfoods, with active research efforts focusing on the effects of the unique phytochemicals instead.

  • Reishi Mushroom is high in Potassium and Phosphorus, and is likely a very good source of Thiamin, Riboflavin, and Niacin (limited data, the data for Vitamins B1-B3 are nearly ubiquitous for all mushrooms, in various ratios).

  • Cordyceps Mushroom is high in Calcium and Magnesium and is likely a very good source of Thiamin, Riboflavin, and Niacin (as explained above).

  • Siberian Ginseng Root has no data available for it.

  • Rhodiola Root has no data available for it.

  • Pomegranate is very high in Vitamin C, Vitamin K, Folate, and Copper, is a great source of Potassium, Manganese, Phosphorus, and a good source of Thiamin, Vitamin B6, Pantothenic Acid, among other micronutrients. Wow!

  • Beet Root is very high in Folate, a great source of Potassium, and a good source of Copper and Manganese.

  • Blueberries have high levels of Vitamin C, and are a good source of Vitamin K and Manganese.

  • Acai Berries have high levels of Vitamin A, and are a good source of Vitamin K, Calcium, and Iron.

  • Strawberries are an excellent source of Vitamin C and a good source of Manganese.

  • Cranberries are high in Vitamin C, and are a good source of Vitamin K, Vitamin E, and Manganese.

  • Raspberries are very high in Vitamin C, and a good source of Vitamin K as well as Manganese.

Red Juice has quite the micronutrient load! Though the Green Juice is more balanced micronutrient wise, the Red Juice contains higher levels of Vitamin C, Vitamin K, and Manganese thanks to all the berries. The only micronutrient that isn't naturally well dosed in the Red Juice is Vitamin D. Considering Vitamin in almost exclusively found in animal products that makes sense. Luckily a bit of sunlight everyday on exposed skin is all you need to naturally produce Vitamin D, and the form of Vitamin D produced naturally that way is highly bioavailable.

According to the above analysis, Red Juice is also a great micronutrient supplement replacement, as long as you're already eating a varied and nutritious diet. I used to take a daily multivitamin (in my mind for optimal health), and since taking the Red Juice daily I've stopped taking a multivitamin, overall in the process greatly reduced my use of micronutrient supplements. I did that because I could tell I no longer need too, which saves me a bunch of time, energy, and cash. Overall it appears that the Organifi Red Juice is a great, highly condensed source of a wide variety of micronutrients.

Macronutrients:

Organifi Red Juice has a good macronutrient profile, high in fiber, and the ratios are:

Fat: 0 grams (0%) | Carbohydrates: 6 grams (100%) | Protein 0 grams (0%)

Considering the relatively small size of a scoop of Red Juice compared to a regular meal, macronutrient wise nothing really jumps out as significant except for the fiber content per scoop.

According to the Red Juice label, a regular scoop (9 grams) contains over 3 grams a fiber, which is more than 10x the amount found in sweet potatoes (per gram), and 65x than the much touted "fiber powerhouse" whole wheat bread (per gram). And that's pretty incredible. The mean intake of fiber is 16 grams for the average American, which is much lower than the conventionally recommended 25-30 grams, and much lower than the 100 grams per day consumed by the Hadza modern day hunter-gatherers of Tanzania, who have extremely healthy guts. If your fiber intake is currently siting at the average of 16 grams, then one scoop of green juice a day will bump up your fiber intake nearly 20%, and two scoops increases your fiber intake by 38%. This is a game-changer, as fiber is critical for a healthy microbiome. Red Juice has to potential to change your gut microbiome and reduce cravings, just through its fiber content alone. They've shown that promoting the beneficial bacteria in your gut will help to out-compete the less than desirable bacteria which crave sugar. Boost your metabolism and experience less cravings with one scoop or Red Juice a day!

Nutrition Summary

If you're looking for the most metabolism boosting superfood powder available, then in addition to Organifi’s Green Juice the Red Juice is a fantastic supplement. There are a few different ways they could have formulated the Red Juice with different superfoods, but honestly I don’t think they could improve upon their goals of an anti-oxidant dense, endurance improving, and metabolism boosting formulation. The most potent fruit powders are already dosed at the proper quantities (pomegranate the most to strawberry the least), and the ingredients chosen for the endurance and metabolism boosting blends are efficacious and well researched. Red Juice appears to be high in most micronutrients except Vitamin D, and is an especially good source of Vitamin K1, an overlooked critically important micronutrient. The high fiber content of 3 grams per 9 gram scoop is awesome too. Compared to all the other superfood powders out there though that contain 50+ ingredients, the Organifi Red Juice is an extremely high quality product with no compromises. Based off of this analysis, I am confident in stating that the Organifi Red Juice is the best red superfood supplement currently available from a nutritional standpoint.

SCORE: 9.5/10

Note: If you live in California, then you know of Prop 65, and how it basically labels everything everywhere as being dangerous. Due to Prop 65, Organifi has to be labeled with a warning, but in reality there is nothing wrong with the product. Read more on Organifi and Prop 65.


price


Compared to other superfood supplements on the market, the Organifi Red Juice at first glance is relatively expensive, but let's break down the pricing structure a bit and find out whether that's actually the case or not. During this price breakdown let's also keep in mind the high quality of ingredients that Organifi uses in their Red Juice, and also the same ingredient - same price fallacy. Be sure to read that Wild Free Organic blog post before continuing!

Organifi Red Juice retails for the following prices:

  • 1 tub Red Juice - $69.95

  • 3 tub’s Red Juice - $178.38

  • 6 tub’s Red Juice - $299.99

There are a five discounts which can be applied to Organifi purchases.

  • First you can buy Organifi Red Juice in bulk in three or six tub packs to reduce the base price per tub. 

  • Second there is the subscribe and save 15% discount, but this only works for the smaller single tub purchases. For the subscribe and save option, you'll save 15% on your purchase, on top of all other discounts, and you'll be auto-shipped your order every 1 or 2 months. Unfortunately, if you buy three or six tubs at a time (better cost savings) then the subscribe and save 15% discount goes away (even though the website doesn't state as much).

  • Third you can apply a regular promo code for a discount on all purchases.

  • Fourth, if you create an account at Organifi you earn 5 points for every dollar on your purchase. $25 gift cards can be purchased for 1,750 points, which equates to $0.014 cents per point.

  • Lastly, if you spend over $250, your order will ship for free, a savings of $9.95+.

Below are three graphs which show how the price reduces as each discount/promotion is applied towards a one, three, and six tub purchase of Red Juice.

Cost Per Bottle Red Juice (1 tub purchase)

Out of all the purchasing options, buying one tub of Red Juice, even with maximum discounts applied, is still more expensive than a 3 tub purchase with no discounts applied ($59.19 vs $57.55). That even includes the special 15% off Auto-Ship stackable coupon only available to 1 tub purchases.

Unless you're trying the Red Juice out for the first time, I suggest you avoid purchasing a single tub at a time...buy in bulk!

Cost Per Bottle Red Juice (3 tub purchase)

With a three tub purchase, things start to improve. Using a 15% coupon and factoring in eventual point usage (with enough consistent purchasing to enable that), the price per tub of Red juice drops to $46.38.

That's $1.55 a scoop, which is pretty economical compared to the price per scoop from a 1 tub purchase with no applied discounts, $2.79!

Cost Per Bottle Red Juice (6 tub purchase)

The six tub purchase, the final stop on this price rollercoaster! Two major things happen when you buy the six pack of Red Juice. First, the default price per tub drops to the lowest of the three options. Second, because of the expense of the order, shipping is free, a savings of $9.95!

You add in those two special factors, plus the usual 15% coupon + point accrual and you get the cheapest price per tub available at $40.20 each. Divide by thirty servings and you get the low low price of $1.34 per scoop (9 grams).


Red Juice with flowers

Pricing Discussion with Comparisons

So with a possible low price of $1.34 per 9 gram scoop ($0.149 per gram), how does the Red Juice stack up to other popular red juice supplements*?

Overall the market for red superfood supplements is split down the middle. Some companies sell red superfood supplements for top dollar, while for the other half it’s a race to the bottom in terms of price (and ingredient quality, more on that later). Organifi strikes a great balance between price and quality, and even with a lower price (if maximum discounts are applied) than some of their competitors, they still have by far the best ingredient list.

One the super pricy side is Vital Reds by Gundry MD. When bought six tubs at a time the price per 9 gram scoop comes out to $5.06 ($0.56 per gram!!). Holy cow! To add insult to injury, the top three ingredients from the proprietary polyphenol blend (the polyphenol blend makes up 83% of the Vital Reds superfood ingredients) are carrot, organic apple peel, and grape skin extract, effectively worthless non-nutrient dense ingredients. Additionally only one ingredient in the entire bottle is organic (the apple peel, big whoop). Overall a very consumer gouging disappointing superfood product.

Also checking in one the expensive side is Biotest’s Superfood, a blend of 18 berries, fruits, and vegetables, coming in at $2.12 per 9 gram scoop ($0.235 per gram). Overall I’m actually a fan of Biotest’s Superfood. It contains 18 ingredients (8-15), so a little out of the preferred range, and I wish the ingredients were organic, but the superfoods chosen are almost all high quality in terms of potency. Organifi’s Red Juice is all organic, has less ingredients, more potent ingredients, and costs less though, and therefore it’s the better deal by far.

Coming in cheaper than Organifi’s Red Juice are a couple competitors, but they all have serious flaws. At $0.60 per 9 gram scoop ($0.067 per gram), Trader Joe’s Super Red Drink Powder looks like the clear winner, but not so fast. Enzymes and probiotics make up 27% of each scoop. Your body naturally produces tons of enzymes to digest food, way more than found in a supplement powder, so spending $5.40 on enzymes and probiotics (which are most effectively delivered via a pill) is money poorly spent. Personally, when I buy a supplement or superfood powder, I like every dollar I spend to go towards an active ingredient which is going to have a positive impact on my health and wellness.

Looking at other brands on Amazon, they all have at least one serious flaw, sometimes more. The best example of this is Superfood Vital Red, which comes in at $1.19 per 9 gram scoop ($0.132 per gram), but it has an 50+ long ingredient list, with numerous repeats. The issue with extremely long ingredient list for these non FDA regulated supplements is it’s impossible to properly test the quality of all the ingredients you’re receiving. With that many ingredients, proper safety testing and quality control is thrown out the window in exchange for cheap prices. Additionally, Many of the ingredients on the label are slight variations of the same food. For example raspberry fruit, raspberry fruit extract, raspberry fruit powder, and organic raspberry fruit powder are all under the ingredient list. What this signals is that instead of finding one high quality producer of that ingredient, the manufacturer of Superfood Vital Red is sourcing the raspberry ingredient component from multiple producers, which is very sloppy quality control wise.

*Prices taken from Amazon, no tax applied

Pricing Summary

Final Assessment? It's possible to buy Organifi Red Juice for a rightfully earned yet economical price if you buy it in bulk, apply a discount (like mine, WILDFREE15), and eventually use accumulated points towards future purchases. I still wish it was cheaper, but hey don't we all. At least with the Organifi Red Juice you definitely get what you pay for!

SCORE: 8.5/10


uses


This review has touched on nearly every factor which is important to consider when choosing a red superfood supplement to add to your cabinet, but what good is all that if you don't use the darn stuff! Luckily, the Red Juice by Organifi is one of the most adaptable supplements I've ever used, and that's thanks to it's amazing taste and fine texture!

To start, Red Juice is usable on it's own in a glass of water because it's easily mixable and tastes good. Throw in a couple ice cubes and it’s like drinking fruit punch! The ability to mix Red Juice straight with water and enjoy it is huge accomplishment, for any supplement! Most protein powders, which typically have the most money spent trying to make them taste good, struggle to do just that in just a glass of water, and are usually much more palatable mixed in with a glass of milk (cow or plant). Looking at the actual product category that the Red Juice competes in, most red superfood supplements are pretty gross in just water, usually due to terrible mixability and unpleasant taste. Huge win for Organifi here.

Next you can use Red Juice in juice blends, smoothies, protein drinks, you name it! One of my favorite combinations is making a strawberry banana shake. Add a scoop of Red Juice, two scoops of the Organifi Vanilla Complete Protein (read the complete protein review here), a handful of frozen organic strawberries, and a banana to almond or coconut milk. Blend until smooth! Delicious, packed with plant protein, superfoods, and super anti-oxidant rich, you don’t have to get creative anymore to make some delicious while still packing a wallop of nutritional power; such a great way to start off your day!

You can also use Red Juice as a healthy natural pre-workout drink. If you find yourself not having the energy you’d like to attack the weights, bike, or trail, a scoop of Red Juice taken an hour before your workout will remedy that problem thanks to ingredients such as the beet root, cordyceps, rhodiola root, and reishi mushroom.

Girls Jumping During Sunset

Beyond making food out of Red Juice, there are also the potential physical, mental, and emotional applications to consider. First, you can use Red Juice as a nutritional supplement to augment your health and wellness routine. You can also use Red Juice to naturally boost your metabolism, with greater effects possible by consuming two or even three scoops a day! Since the Red Juice is so anti-oxidant rich, incorporate it into a 7 day detox plan, drinking a scoop every morning and night paired with daily sauna usage. Slipped a bit nutritionally for the day? A scoop of Red Juice won’t completely right your wrongs, but it’ll definitely help “reduce the damage”, thanks to adaptogenic properties of rhodiola root and siberian ginseng root. Superdosing Red Juice while feeling sick or feverish (especially when paired with the Green Juice) can help you recover much faster.

The different uses for Red Juice are pretty comprehensive, and the ways to consume it seem endless too, which allows you so many ways to incorperate it into your daily routine. I've saved so much money by keeping a couple of bottles of Red Juice in my cabinet at all times, along with all the other Organifi Supplements, because it has replaced so many of the other less effective energy based supplements I used to buy! Don't worry, I don't think you'll run out of uses anytime soon.

SCORE: 10/10


summary


This review went over A LOT, and that was the whole point. I aim to provide the best resources possible through this website to positively impact peoples lives and to allow people to make informed and intelligent purchasing decisions. With it's outstanding flavor (10/10) and great texture (8.0/10), I think the Organifi Red Juice is the best tasting and most palatable red superfood supplement currently on the market. The ingredients are all organic, and with only eleven main ingredients, they are all well dosed for proper pharmacological effects (8.5/10). Nutritionally, the superfoods are all well chosen and chock-full of various phytonutrients, micronutrient doses are high, and Red Juice has a very favorable macronutrient profile high in fiber (9.5/10). For what you get, Red Juice is one of the best values on the market, rightfully earning a slightly higher price point than some of its competitors but at a much greater value (8.5/10). Lastly, the uses for Red Juice in my experience are nearly endless, and it is one of the most versatile supplements you can currently buy, period (10/10).

60 Day Money Back Guarentee Seal

So where does that leave us? Should you buy a tub of the Organifi Red Juice? In my opinion the answer is a resounding yes due to the previously mentioned criteria, and one other important purchasing consideration. Organifi Red Juice is backed up by of the best return policies in the fitness and health industry, an amazing 60-back money back guarantee. That's actually how I was convinced to buy my first tub of Red Juice! The Red Juice had just released, and never having tried any Organifi supplements before, I decided to buy a tub of Green Juice and Red Juice. I first heard of Organifi online, and information on the internet about the product was enticing, but lacking, so I decided to give both products a try, fully expecting to send in a refund order unless I was blown away. After sixty days, I never pursued the refund. In fact I placed a six tub order for both shortly afterwards in order to get the best price per scoop. I loved the positive energy boosting effect had on me with daily usage, and I haven’t gone back.

Final takeaway: Organifi Red Juice is the best red superfood supplement currently on the market, and considering the state of it's competition, I don't expect that to change anytime soon. If you're looking for a supplement to help kick-start a healthier lifestyle, or you already live a healthy lifestyle but want to take it to the next level, then Red Juice is the right choice for you!


FINAL SCORE: 9.1/10


PROS:

  • Amazing flavor and taste

  • Great mixability

  • Impressive all organic superfood ingredient list

  • High in nearly every micronutrient + fiber

  • Provides an abundance of natural clean energy

  • Reduces “deep set” fatigue

  • Adaptogens help to reduce stress and improve mood

  • Nearly endless uses

CONS:

  • Slightly gritty texture if mixed in only water

  • Proprietary formula

  • Pricier unless purchased in bulk